WARNING: FRAUD ALERT
There are fraudulent websites circulating that advertise discounted gun permits that can be applied and
paid for online. This is not accurate!
Georgia Weapons Carry Licenses can only be issued after appearing in person at the Probate Court.
NO PERMIT WILL BE ISSUED WITHOUT THE APPLICANT APPEARING IN PERSON AND PAYING THE REQUIRED
Hours to Apply: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
(9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. on Thursday)
Please take into consideration that the entire application process will take 30 minutes to complete so
please arrive no later than *4:00pm to ensure ample time to complete the entire
Fees to Apply for Weapons Carry License
- Original WCL Application with fingerprinting included $82.75*
*this fee includes license application fee, fingerprinting, background search and mailing
- Renewal WCL Application $38.00
- Original WCL Application Retired Law Enforcement $15.50
- Renewal WCL Application Retired Law Enforcement $7.00
- Temporary License with a Renewal Application $1.00
- Replacement fee for a lost or stolen WCL is $6.00
All fees are nonrefundable.
Please note: there will be a 2.75% service fee assessed to any credit/debit card transaction.
Probate Court only accepts credit card, debit cards, cash, money orders or cashier's checks in the exact
amount for Marriage Licenses and Pistol Permits. Probate Court does not accept checks for Marriage
Licenses and Pistol Permits.
- MINIMUM AGE
To apply for a firearms license in this court, you must be 21 years of age or older and be a
resident of Chatham County. If the applicant is AT LEAST 18, has completed basic training in
the armed forces of the United States AND provides proof that he or she is actively serving or
has been honorably discharged they may be issued a license if no other prohibitors apply.
If you are between the ages of 18 and 21, the following documents are required for application:
an active duty ID card, copy of orders to Hunter Army Airfield or proof of residency in Chatham
County, and documentation showing completion of basic training.
- APPEAR IN PERSON
All applicants must appear in person complete an application in the Probate Court which is
located in Room 509 of the Chatham County Courthouse at 133 Montgomery Street, Savannah,
Georgia. Map & Directions
Public computers are available at Probate Court for completion of Weapons Carry License (WCL)
applications. To complete applications using these public computers, you must have an email
address to register. Paper applications are available for persons with limited computer skills.
- YOU MUST BRING TO COURT
- Valid Georgia ID with current Chatham County address (P.O. Box NOT accepted)
- If you are NOT a U.S. Citizen, you must provide documentation to show your immigration
- I-94 Form (ID Card) with an 11 digit admission number that starts with AR or
- ID Card that has been assigned to you by Immigration & Custom Enforcement (ICE)
- Sufficient personal identifying data including place of birth
- Some form of proof that you are domiciled here, such as a lease agreement or
- If your ID does not show your current Chatham County Address, you must adequately prove
your domicile by sufficient documentation such as:
If you have lived at your current residence longer than 60 days and your valid Georgia
Driver’s license does not reflect your current Chatham County address, pursuant to
Section 40-5-33, other documents will not be accepted as proof of your domicile.
- Government issued ID
- Voter registration card
- Property tax statement
- Utility bill
- Lease agreement
- Vehicle registration
- DO YOUR HOMEWORK
- Read Federal and State laws to determine if you are eligible to obtain a Weapons Carry
O.C.G.A. § 16-11-129
The Gun Control Act of 1968 18 U.S.C. §§ 921 et seq.
Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act of 1993 Public Law 103-159
WCL Federal and Georgia Prohibitors
- If you believe you have documentation to overcome or explain a prohibitor on your record,
bring that documentation with you and file it with your application.
The WCL Application Process Information
- LICENSES ISSUED BY ANOTHER COUNTY:
Applications made by a license holder whose current or previous license was issued by another
county will be subjected to verification by previous court. If there are any discrepancies, the
applicant may be subject to fingerprinting again.
Weapons Carry Licenses are valid for five (5) years unless revoked by Court
All permits will be sent to you by mail at the address you provide in the application.
Applications made 90 days prior to the expiration of the current license or within 30 days
after expiration of the previous license shall be considered renewal licenses according to the
guidance document. The cost of a renewal is $38.00 and you must complete an application in
Probate Court. If you are applying for a renewal the following documents are required for
application: Driver's license or state ID card issued by Chatham County, and your old permit.
RETIRED LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS (RLE)
Any person who has served as a law enforcement officer for at least:
shall be entitled to be issued a weapons carry license at the reduced fee of $15.50 for an
application and $7.00 for a renewal application. Applicants will be required to provide to
Court proof of retirement in good standing (e.g., badge, original on law enforcement agency
letterhead). O.C.G.A. §16-11-129(h)
- Ten of the 12 years immediately preceding the retirement of such person as a law
enforcement officer or
- Ten years and left such employment as a result of a disability arising in the line of
- Retired or left such employment in good standing with a state or federal certifying
agency and receives benefits under the Peace Officers' Annuity and Benefit Fund or from
county, municipal, State of Georgia, state authority, federal, private sector,
or educational institution retirement system or program
LOST OR STOLEN WEAPONS CARRY LICENSE
If your license is lost, damaged, or stolen, you may obtain a replacement. You must report such
loss or damage to this court within 48 hours of discovering it. If your license is damaged, you
should bring it with you.
Replacement Fee: $6.00 Cash, Debit, or Credit Card
If the permit is denied, there is NO REFUND.
- APPEALS AND REQUESTS FOR HEARING
If you have received a denial of your application and wish to file an appeal for a hearing, the
request must be in writing and the filing fee is $30.00.
- GUN SAFETY CLASSES
Information on gun safety classes is available by contacting the Chatham County Sheriff's Office.
- STATES ENTITLED TO FIREARM RECIPROSITY
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky,
Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North
Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah,
Virginia*, West Virginia, Wisconsin* and Wyoming.
*Virginia and Wisconsin recognize only those Georgia licenses issued to persons 21 years of age
or older; Georgia recognizes all Virginia and Wisconsin licenses.
As always, Georgia firearms permit holders should familiarize themselves with the individual
requirements and limitations on firearms permits in any of the reciprocating states where they
wish to exercise their rights.
General Chris Carr Adds Virginia to List of States Entitled to Georgia’s Firearm License
If you have any further questions specific to WEapons Carry Licenses, please call
(912) 652-7264 Option 3