Monday - Friday | 8AM - 5PM
In Georgia, notaries public are commissioned for a four-year term by the Clerk of Superior Court in their county of residence. Georgia also allows residents of neighboring states to apply to become notaries public. These out-of-state residents must own a business in Georgia or be regularly employed in Georgia and must apply with the Clerk of Superior Court in the county where they own a business or are employed.
NOTE: Only out-of-state residents may apply in their county of employment; Georgia residents may only apply in their county of residence. Georgia notaries public may perform notarial acts anywhere within the State of Georgia.
Fee: The fee for the new notary appointment or for reappointment is $42.00.
Qualifications to become a notary in Georgia:
For application and more information, please visit: www.gsccca.org.
|Issuance of New Certificate (Signed into law 3/16/11)||$52.00 eff. 6/1/16|
|Renewal (Signed into law 3/16/11)||$52.00 eff. 6/1/16|
|Issuance of new and renewal of Certificate for County/Municipal Government Employees
(Attorney Gen. Opinion on OCGA 15-21-A-6)
|$37.00 eff. 6/1/16|
|Issuance of new and renewal of Certificate for State Employees
(Attorney Gen Opinion on OCGA 15-21-A-6)
|$52.00 eff. 6/1/16|
|Certificate of Authority (Notary Flag)||$ 2.00|